Social Science

At Channel Islands, we believe our students are capable of engaging in the strongest and most powerful thought experiments and discussions available to students of their age and maturity. For that reason, Social Studies courses are implemented with great care and attention to pedagogy and the cultivation of civic responsibility. Students engage with responsive and motivated instructors on some of the most challenging topics in the current political atmosphere. 

“By giving young Americans a stake in the outcome of their communities, we can renew our civic identity while providing people with skills and experiences that they can use throughout their lives.” -Tae Yoo

Voters’ Resources

Department Chair

Ed Ransom
805-389-5963
ed.ransom@oxnardunion.org

Scott Bankert
805-385-5844
scott.bankert@oxnardunion.org

Brad Bowman
805-385-5850
brad.bowman@oxnardunion.org

Ernie Carrasco
805-385-5224
ernie.carrasco@oxnardunion.org

David Cole
805-385-5861
david.cole@oxnardunion.org

John Colvin
805-385-5863
john.colvin@oxnardunion.org

Sam Kochel
805-385-5912
sam.kochel@oxnardunion.org

John Minkel
805-385-5933
john.minkel@oxnardunion.org

Gary Porter Sr
805-385-8947
gary.porterSR@oxnardunion.org

Phyra Prum
805-385-5953
Phyra.prum@oxnardunion.org

Eduardo Ramos
805-389-6944
eduardo.ramos@oxnardunion.org

Francisco Salazar
805-385-5968
francisco.salazar@oxnardunion.org

Matt Urwick
805-385-5972
matt.urwick@oxnardunion.org

Shanley Williams
805-385-5990
shanley.williams@oxnardunion.org